Football and Sports News

AFL Coaches votes 2022 final leaderboard, winner

He shared the AFL Coaches Association Player of the Year award for the second time in the award’s history with Melbourne. Clayton Oliver Going back but sharing the spoils with the Gold Coast Tuck Miller.

Amazingly, Miller and Oliver finished with 98 votes in Brisbane To you Nelle Finishing third (92 votes) and Oliver’s Melbourne teammate Christian Petracca Fourth (89) Port Adelaide Connor Rosie (88) He swept out the five.

It is the first time two players have shared the AFLCA’s top award since Simon Goodwin and Adam Goodes in 2006.

Watch the 2022 AFL Awards Night on Caio! New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

With 88 coaches’ votes — and a two-vote lead over stars Oliver and Petracca — Miller and Neale went home and away before sweeping the final two rounds of voting.

The Suns’ co-captain took the outright lead with 95 votes from Round 23, seven votes ahead of Geelong, with Oliver picking up two votes to join Neal in equal second place with 88 votes with one round to go.

Oliver then scored a perfect 10 in the final home-and-away demolition of the Demons’ Neale Lions to take the lead.

Clayton Oliver of the Devils and Tuck Miller of the Sun in 2018. Picture: Daniel KissSource: AAP

But Miller played a vital role in North Melbourne’s finals win and secured three votes to clinch the AFLCA champions’ Player of the Year for the first time in history.

Oliver, who won the managers’ vote in 17 of his 21 appearances, including the top vote in four rounds, became only the second player to win the award more times since Gary Ablett did back-to-back from 2007 to 2009.

Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin said: “Clayton’s desire to be great, combined with his desire to win and consistently perform at a high level, has enabled him to produce another incredible season.”

“To be recognized by the coaches as their champion player for the second consecutive season, I believe it’s the best award a player can receive. It’s a real credit to Clayton. He deserves the recognition and I couldn’t be more proud of him for bringing the best to the team week in, week out.”

In the year Promoted to Gold Coast co-captain ahead of the club’s best-ever 2022 season, Miller has established himself as one of the best midfielders in the AFL competition.

The Suns star, who finished fifth in the award last year, has been voted by the coaches in 15 of his 22 games, including the top 10 votes in one round.

Suns cement Roos into last place | 01:16

Suns manager Stuart Dew said: “As a football club we are very proud of our assistant captain for winning this award. It is a fair measure of the impact on the results of games throughout the 2022 AFL season. He is leading the way for our club with his preparation, thinking and efforts, and he will be a great role model for those around him.

“Having a front-row seat to his commitment to the club and the game has been the perfect opportunity during my time at the Sun. Tuck deserves everything that comes his way.

AFLCA chief executive Alistair Nicholson said it was a “delightful” result.

“In our eyes, this is one of the most prestigious awards in the AFL and both Clayton and Tuck coaches deserve it because they have a unique perspective on the game and cast their votes with care and consideration,” Nicholson said.

All coaches vote for the award on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis from each home and away game.

There was a surprise at the Young Player of the Year award – which recognizes players based on their performance in their first two AFL seasons and is decided by a weekly vote of coaches – with Hawthorne averaging Jay Newcombe giving respect.

Jai Newcombe of the Hawks. Picture: Steve BellSource: Getty Images

In the year Newcombe, who was selected by the Hawks in the 2021 midseason draft, finished 10 ahead of Sidney, who had 44 votes over the past two seasons. Errol Gulden. Geelong young defender Sam de Kong He finished third.

Hawks coach Sam Mitchell said: “This award is a wonderful recognition of Jay’s first full season.

“Through 22 games this year, he has been one of our most consistent and reliable performers – which is quite a feat for someone who has only played 29 games.

“For a 21-year-old, his ability to get the best out of himself is amazing. He is an incredibly driven and self-motivated player and someone I really enjoy coaching.

2022 AFL Coaches Association Champion of the Year Awards leaderboard (every vote and full final leaderboard here)

=1. Clayton Oliver (Melbourne) and Tuck Miller (Gold Coast Suns) – 98 votes

3. Lachie Neale (Brisbane Lions) – 92

4. Christian Petracca (Melbourne) – 89

5. Conor Rosey (Port Adelaide) – 88

6. Patrick Cripps (Carleton) – 86

7. Jeremy Cameron (Geelong Cats) – 76

8. Andrew Bryshaw (Fremantle) – 74

9. Callum Mills (Sydney Swans) – 65

10. Mark Blicavs (Geelong Cats) – 60

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.