Football and Sports News

AFL MVP award 2022 list of nominees

The AFL Players Association has announced the contenders for the 2022 MVP awards.

The Players Association released the nominations for the MVP, First-Year Player of the Year and Most Valuable Player awards on Sunday.

Scroll down to see the full list of nominees.

Watch every blockbuster AFL match this weekend with ad-free in-game streaming on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

Three players from each club were nominated for the MVP award, which was conducted in a two-stage voting process. Players choose their teammates in stage one before choosing from the wider field of competition in stage two.

Key forwards from minor premiers Geelong have been nominated, with Jeremy Cameron and Tom Hawkins joining Mark Blicavs on the shortlist.

Hanbury emotional after the last game | 02:25

Brownlow Medalists Lachie Neale, Christian Petracca, Patrick Cripps, Clayton Oliver are all nominated.

Collingwood young gun Nick Dykos was not only the first year player of the year, he was also one of Collingwood’s three MVP nominees.

The AFL Players Association awards will be announced at the AFL Awards on Wednesday 24 August.

The Under 22 squad with 40 players was announced two weeks ago.

Adelaide Krause

MVP: Jordan Dawson, Rory Laird, Taylor Walker

Very brave. Ned McHenry

Best first year: Jake Soligo

Best captain. Rory Sloane

Brisbane Lions

MVP: Charlie Cameron, Hugh McLuggage, Lachie Neale

Very brave. Noah’s answer

Best first year: Kai Lohman

Best captain. Dayne Zorko


MVP: Charlie Curnow, Patrick Cripps, Sam Walsh

Very brave. Sam Docherty

Best first year. Jesse Motlop

Best captain. Patrick Cripps


MVP: Jack Crisp, Jeremy Howe, Nick Dykos

Very brave. Brayden Maynard

Best first year: Nick Dykos

Best captain. Scott Pendlebury


MVP: Mason Redman, Peter Wright, Zach Merrett

Very brave. Jayden Laverde

Best first year: Nick Martin

Best captain. Dyson Heppel


MVP: Andrew Bryshaw, Brennan Cox, Will Brody

Very brave. Hayden Young

Best first year: Neil Erasmus

Best captain. Nathan Fife

Geelong cats

MVP: Jeremy Cameron, Mark Blicavs, Tom Hawkins

Very brave. Tom Atkins

Best first year: Oliver Dempsey

Best captain. Joel Selwood

Gold Coast Sun

MVP: Jarrod Witts, Tuck Miller, Sam Collins

Very brave. David Swallow

Best first year: McAndrew

Best captain. Jarrod Witts, Tuck Miller

GWS giant

MVP: Sam Taylor, Stephen Congiglio, Toby Greene

Very brave. Harry Perryman

Best first year: Finn Callaghan

Best captain. Josh Kelly, Toby Green, Stephen Congiglio


MVP: Dylan Moore, Jai Newcombe, James Cicely

Very brave. Blake Hardwick

Best first year: Conor McDonald

Best captain. Ben McAvoy


MVP: Angus Bryshaw, Christian Petracca, Clayton Oliver

Very brave. Jack Vinny

Best first year: Jacob van Rooyen

Best captain. Max Gawn

North Melbourne

MVP: Ben McKay, Jay Simpkin, Luke Davey-Unique

Very brave. Luke McDonald

Best first year: Paul Curtis

Best captain. Jack Ziebell

Port Adelaide

MVP: Connor Rozee, Sam Powell-Pepper, Todd Marshall

Very brave. Tom Jonas

Best first year: Jesse Burgoyne

Best captain. Tom Jonas


MVP: Dion Prestia, Liam Baker, Shai Bolton

Very brave. Liam Baker

Best first year: Josh Gibbs

Best captain. Dylan Grimes, Toby Nankervis


MVP: Callum Wilkie, Jack Sinclair, Jack Steele

Very brave. Daniel McKenzie

Best first year. Marcus Windager

Best captain. Jack Steele

Sydney Swans

MVP: Callum Mills, Chad Warner, Isaac Heeney

Very brave. Paddy McCarthy

Best first year. Matthew Roberts

Best captain. Callum Mills, Dane Rampe, Luke Parker

West Coast Eagles

MVP: Jack Redden, Shannon Hurn, Tom Barrass

Very brave. Tom Baras

Best first year: Brady Hough

Best captain. Luke Shui

Western Bulldogs

MVP: Aaron Naughton, Marcus Bontempelli, Tom Liberatore

Very brave. Josh Dunkley

Best first year: Robbie McComb

Best captain. Marcus Bontempelli

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.