Football and Sports News

AFLPA MVP leaderboard 2022, full AFL votes

Fremantle star Andrew Brayshaw has been named the 2022 Player of the Year after winning the AFL Players Association’s most valuable player award in 18 years.

Brayshaw, 22, joined St Kilda’s Nick Riewoldt on Wednesday night to win the 2004 Leigh Matthews Trophy as the AFL Players’ MVP, becoming the youngest player since a remarkable 2022 campaign for the Dockers.

In other AFLPA awards, Collingwood’s Scott Pendlebury He was named the best captain of Richmond Liam Baker Robert Rose won the Bravest Award and the Magpies Young Gun Nick Dykos He was named the first-year player of the year.

Watch every blockbuster AFL match this weekend with ad-free in-game streaming on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

With an impressive MVP performance, Bryshaw was voted by his peers as the best player in the AFL this season.

Star Melbourne average Clayton Oliver Richmond finished second while the joy machine Tea Bolton He finished third

Brownlow Medal Winner To you Nelle and a Coleman Medal winner Jeremy Cameron He added five.

Brother of Andrew Bryshaw of the Dockers and Angus Bryshaw of the Demons. Photo: Michael KleinSource: News Corp Australia

Bryshaw was named captain of the 22under22 team on Tuesday, making the final team and becoming the first player to win MVP in the same season.

Brayshaw’s older brother, Melbourne defender Angus Brayshaw, congratulated his younger sibling on the achievement.

“I am very proud to have Andrew named the competition’s Most Valuable Player by his peers and anyone who has watched him this year will agree that he is a worthy receiver,” Angus said.

I’m sure it’s the first of many awards in his career.

MVP voting is a two-step process, starting with each player voting for the three teammates they think are most valuable this season. Each club’s vote will be tallied to form a shortlist of 54 players across 18 teams.

In the second round of voting, all players will vote for their MVP on a 3-2-1 basis from the other 17 clubs’ nominees. Two players cannot choose their teammates during the process.

The votes are tallied and the player with the highest score wins MVP honors.

Andrew Bryshaw of the Dockers. Picture: Mark MetcalfeSource: Getty Images

A similar process was followed for Best First Year Player and Most Brave but each captain was automatically nominated for the Best Captain Award.

Pendlebury joins rare company as a multiple winner of the Best Captain Award.

The Magpies champion in 2014 After winning in 2020, he took the honor for the second time in three seasons and became the Geelong champion. Joel Selwood And the reigning Melbourne Premier Captain Max Gawn.

Pendlebury joins Michael Voss (four times), Wayne Carey (three), Mark Riccito (two), Jonathan Brown (two) and Taylor Walker (two) as the most prolific captain’s receivers.

Baker was awarded Robert Rose’s bravest player – 12 months after finishing third behind St Kilda’s Jack Steele.

The Tigers star finished ahead of Collingwood Brayden Maynard and Melbourne Jack Vinny.

Unsurprisingly, Daikos took the first-year player ahead of Essendon Nick Martin and St. Kilda Marcus Windager.

AFLPA Awards – Winners and votes

Leigh Matthews Trophy for Most Valuable Player

1. Andrew Bryshaw (Fremantle)

2. Clayton Oliver (Melbourne)

3. Shay Bolton (Richmond)

4. Lachie Neale (Brisbane Lions)

5. Jeremy Cameron (Geelong Cats)

Robert Rose Most Brave Award

1. Liam Baker (Richmond)

2. Brayden Maynard (Collingwood)

3. Jack Vinny (Melbourne)

4. Paddy McCarthy (Sydney Swans)

5. Sam Docherty (Carlton)

The best captain

1. Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)

2. Joel Selwood (Geelong Cats)

3. Max Gawn (Melbourne

4. Patrick Cripps (Carleton)

5. Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)

First year best player award

1. Nick Dykos (Collingwood)

2. Nick Martin (Essendon)

3. Marcus Windager (St Kilda)

4. Joshua Gibkus (Richmond)

5. Jesse Motlop (Carlton)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.