Football and Sports News

Australian Netball Championships, Nat Medhurst, West Coast Fever, Super Netball, young, talent, rising star, training partners, Traralgon

Greatest Aussie Nat Medhurst will officially return to the court at the Australian Netball Championships in August.

Incredibly, the retired Aussie diamond has been called up for West Coast Fever – nearly four years after leaving the club.

Medhurst is the biggest name to take part in the 10-club competition, which showcases the best talent outside of Super Netball in Australia.

Get all the latest netball news, highlights and analysis straight to your inbox with Fox Sports Sportmail. Register now!!!

Super Netball’s young guns, such as Reilly Batchelor, Ruby Barkmeier and Sophie Faunce, will take part in the series, as will former representative players.

This is the first time since the start of the Covid pandemic that the tournament has been held since the series was abandoned in 2020 and 2021.

The competition was held in Victoria’s Fury is once again one of the favorites to claim their ninth title since its inception in 2008.

They are the only side to have won the series more than once – NSW (formerly known as the Waratahs), SA (Southern Power), Tasmania (formerly the Magpies) and WA (formerly the Western Stings) have all won once.

Of the MVPs of the annual tournament, only two did not go on to participate in the then-current ANZ Championship or Super Netball series.

The ANC will be held in Traralgon from 22-28 August.

Games are available live and on-demand at Kayo Freebies.

The full squads of the ANC

* Depends on fitness

Brave – Super Netball contracted athletes

Italic – Played in Super Netball/Extended SSN squads.

Collingwood Magpies

Maggie Lind

We have Nia

We have Sinai*

Montana Homes

Zoe Davis

Casey Adamson

Vanessa Augustini

Jane Cook

Gabrielle Dwyer

Ramir Gourley

Unique Pallavi

Olivia Wilkinson

Maggie Lind in action for Collingwood.  Picture: Mike Owen
Maggie Lind in action for Collingwood. Picture: Mike OwenSource: Getty Images


Amber Brophy

Charlie Fiddler

Emma Smith

Latika Tombs

Madeleine Eaton

Malia Harrison

Butterfly Mile

Millie Roach

Nalani Makunde

Olivia Clarke

Olivia Coleman

Taylah Davis

Queenland Sapphires

Charlie Bell

Riley Burns

Olivia Dijkstra

Ashleigh Erwin

Macy Gardner

Remy Camo

Lisa Mi Mi

Maddie Ridley*

Mia Stower

Daniel Taylor

Hulita Vev

Leah Woolnough

Mia Stower was elected. Picture: Jason McCawleySource: Getty Images

Victorian anger

Emily Andrew

Ruby Barkmeyer

Maggie Carreys

Gaby Coffey

Jordan Cransburg

Tayla Mar

Tori Horner*

Sharni Lambden

Olivia Lewis

Hannah Mundy

Emma Ride

Rahni Samson

Vixens trio Hannah Mundy, Ruby Barkmeyer and Rahni Samson all play Victoria Fury. Picture: Kelly DefinaSource: Getty Images

A huge academy

Eliza Burton

Gemma Donoghue


Matisse Letherbarrow

Emily Moore

Lauren Moore

Erin O’Brien

Megan O’Keefe

Amy Sligar

Nath Sligar

Ellen Spencer

Emma Thompson

Lauren Moore tries to intercept. Picture: Daniel PockettSource: Getty Images


Ali Miller

Audrey Little

Brooke Patterson

Charlotte Raleigh

Chelsea Man

Dakota Thomas

Jessica Conlan

Laura Towell

Lauren Woods

Lily Gorman-Brown

Sophie Fawns

Tegan O Shanasy

Sophie Fawns She is out to challenge Swift in 2022. Picture: John SearleSource: Getty Images

West coast fever awaits

Chelsea Bartlett

Caitlin Brown

Sloan Burton

Emma Kosh

Zoe Cransburg

Shannon Egland

Rudy Ellis*

Nat Medhurst.

Ingrid Moss (nee Collier)*

Emma Putt

Jess Repacholi

Ella Taylor

Rudy Ellis and Emma Kosh (centre and right) represent the West Coast Fever Reserves. Picture: James WorsfallSource: Getty Images

Sun Coast Lightning

Reilly Batchelor

Annie Miller

Annabelle Lawrie

Jada Gaffa

Ashley Union

Bridey Condren

Ava Black

Leilani Rohder

Annika Lee-Jones

Emma Walters

Martina Rickers

Lily Gribble

Reilly Batchelor (right) puts the lightning down. Picture: Jason McCawleySource: Getty Images

South Power

Lucy Austin

Lauren Frew

Poppy Gilfillan-silk

Jacoba Clough

Paris Sinclair

Georgia Dent

Tyler Orr

Sophie Casey

Chelsea Blackman

Molly Watson

Matilda Garrett

Jesse Greenvold

Thunderbird Matilda Garrett. Picture Sarah Reid / NetballSASource: Submitted


Gemma Collyer

Jess Ernie

Massey Gonnion

Zoe Gough

Hannah Lenthal

Eli Marshall

Hayley McDougall

Shelby Miller

Ash Pobert-Hill

Grace Pullen

Ash Turner

Alex Vinen

Related Articles