Football and Sports News

Cricket Australia 2022, BBL Draft, order, date, picks, news, how to watch, Big Bash League

The first BBL draft order has been locked with confirmation of date and distribution details.

The BBL|12 draft takes place on August 28 and will be broadcast on Fox Cricket on Foxtel and Kayo Sports.

Cricket Australia confirmed the order of selection after two weighted lotteries were held on Thursday.

See England tour of South Africa. Every ODI and T20 live and on demand on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

And despite finishing fifth in the standings last season, it was a devastating result for the Hobart Hurricanes, who picked in the final rounds one and two.

The order is decided through two weighted lotteries; Those who missed the finals – the Melbourne Stars, Brisbane Heat and Melbourne Renegades – qualified for picks one to three, while the remaining teams were in the lottery for the remaining picks.

Those who finished lower in the standings were more likely to be drawn first, meaning the eighth-placed Renegades were three times more likely to be drawn before the sixth-placed Stars.

This meant that in a lottery of four to eight picks, the Hurricanes had five entries compared to the eventual winner, the Perth Scorchers.

However, the Hurricanes – with Ricky Ponting at the helm of the strategy – eventually pulled out, with second-placed Sydney Sixers lucky to pick four.

1 Week in Cricket on Com Games! | 01:07

The order of the draft is as follows.

1. Melbourne Renegades

2. Melbourne Stars

3. Brisbane Heat

4. Sydney Sixers

5. Adelaide Strikers

6. Perth Scorers

7. Sydney Thunder

8. Hobart Hurricanes

The draft will have four rounds:

– Round 1: Platinum players only

– 2nd round: Platinum or Gold

– 3rd round: gold or silver

– 4th round: silver or bronze

The first round is followed by a pick order as drawn, followed by a snake order before rounds two to four.

A total of 170 players submitted for the draft and are listed below


Rashid Khan, Qais Ahmed, Fazalhaq Farooqui, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Waqarullah Ishaq, Izharulhaq Naveed, Naveen Ul Haq Murid, Hazratullah Zazai.

New Zealand

Colin Munro, Todd Astle

south africa

Faf du Plessis, Marchant de Lange, Riley Rosseau, David Wise (and Namibia)

West Indies

Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sheldon Cottrell, Chemar Holder, Aqeel Hossain, Evin Lewis, Anderson Phillips, Cary Pierre, Ravi Rampaul, Sherfane Rutherford, Jayden Sills, Kevin Sinclair, Theon Webster, Niamh Young.

The draft will be shown in Australia’s ODI against Zimbabwe in Townsville on August 28.

“The inaugural BBL draft will be a fantastic addition and we couldn’t be more excited,” said Fox Cricket General Manager Matt Weiss.

“FOX Cricket is the only place fans can watch every ball of the BBL and T20 World Cup this year and the draft is a great way to kick off our biggest season of cricket since Fox Cricket launched five years ago.”

Related Articles