Football and Sports News

Jack Ginnivan high tackle, holding the ball, shrugs, ducks, Collingwood Magpies vs Port Adelaide Power, Robbie Gray, video, highlights, commentary, reactions, response

Polarizing Magpie Jack Ginnivan is at the center of controversy from around the football world after he was involved in a controversial decision in Saturday’s clash with Port Adelaide.

Midway through Collingwood’s meeting with Port Adelaide at the MCG, Geneva appeared high on the ball in the forward 50, turning a tackle on Robbie Gray, prompting the referee to kick him for holding the ball.

Pace fans booed loudly after the decision.

Stream every game of the 2022 Toyota AFL Premiership season live and ad-break free in-game on Kayo. New to Kayo? Try it now for 14-days free >

“Every time he gets caught, there’s a question among football fans,” said Fox Footy analyst Mark Howard.

After the league recently announced a crackdown on high contact interpretations for players who duck or tackle, umpires are now being ordered to pay for holding the ball.

But just last week the AFL admitted a Ginnivan should have been awarded a free kick for a tackle on Essendon’s Mason Redman last week, but said the Magpie high contact was to blame.

Although St Kilda great Nick Riewoldt believes the referee made the right call to award Guinevan a penalty during Saturday’s clash.

He scored three goals in a strong first half for Guinevere, with Riewoldt praising the 19-year-old for his performance under plenty of control.

“We lost our minds the last two weeks and this young man was in the middle of it,” Riewoldt said at half-time on Fox Footy.

“You’ve got to love that he’s out here on the big stage, with all the noise, all the talk, even though he’s 19 years old, he’s come out this quarter and absolutely lit it up. up

Ginnivan captured by Gray (Photo by Michael Wilson/AFL Photos via Getty Images)Source: Getty Images

“It’s great to see. I don’t think we’ve talked about the 22-player as much as we have this guy, and maybe what’s gotten a little lost in all of this is how well he’s playing.

Former Magpies coach Nathan Buckley thought the incident was well organized.

“He was uncharged in the front 50 and he was a meter and a half from the Port Adelaide defender and he knew what he was going to do before he got there,” he said.

“There was no action taken. I think it was fair as were the wings.

Others were not satisfied with the play being judged on social media.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.