Football and Sports News

Shane van Gisbergen wins Sandown SuperSprint, results, latest, updates

Shane van Gisbergen overtakes Will Davison for his 16th win of the season.

Van Gisbergen helped himself to his second Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint win of the day.

Watch every practice, qualifying and race of the 2022 Repco Supercars Championship and the racing season on Cayo, ad-free. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

The Kiwis’ points lead was hampered by Cam Waters and Anton de Pasqual both scoring problems.

Waters lost his pursuit of Chase Mostert on lap 9 in the closing laps.

De Pasquale, meanwhile, was injured after an early encounter with Davison.

Van Gisbergen’s 16th win equaled Craig Lowndes’ feat in 1996.

Scott McLaughlin’s record 18 wins, set in 2019, is on the way to Van Gisbergen.

The victory in Van Gisbergen’s long haul, which began in 2007, marks the 70th.

Brock Feeney scored his second podium of the year after a late entry at Mostert.

“It was very important in the first few rounds, what an amazing battle,” Van Gisbergen said.

“It’s a shame that Anton got injured, and we all couldn’t fight it.

“I am very happy for the team, double platform, congratulations to Bro.

“[Davison’s] He was very fast all weekend, I followed him yesterday, he was driving well.

“That race, I knew I had to get it at the start… I didn’t look in the mirror, I just kept pushing.

Davison and Van Gisbergen were off the line and out of the field.

Davison was forced to take a chimney stop 01:39

Additional coverage

‘It was like a bad cigarette’: Supercars star’s narrow escape after electrical fire breaks out

Supercars star’s touching tribute to NRL coach after impressing for first time in 13 years

Jake Kostecki spun in front of the field and was collected by Todd Hazelwood, with Chris Peter and Macauley Jones also involved.

Van Gisbergen pounced on Davison and cleared the Shell V-Power Ford into turn 6.

A mistake by Van Gisbergen in the 11th lap helped Davison close, only for De Pasqual to beat his team-mate.

De Pasquale went in immediately with a broken lead, and lost six laps in the pits.

Davison chased down Van Gisbergen despite bleeding from the rear exhaust of the #17 Mustang.

Van Gisbergen, Davison, Mostert, Waters and Feeney were covered by 1.5 seconds on lap 8.

Smoke billowed from Davison’s car once Mostert hit it on lap 9 to cut the leads.

Van Gisbergen, Davison, Waters and Feeney continued, with a brief stay at Winterbottom.

Winterbottom and Feeney stood at 15 and 16 respectively.

Davison SVG for Sandown win | 01:03

Red Bull’s Bulbul Racing pulled van Gisbergen in on lap 17 and pulled ahead of Mostert.

Waters and Brown stopped in the 19th round and left Davison in his own fresh air.

Davison eventually dropped out of the lead on lap 23 and dropped two seconds to van Gisbergen on cold tyres.

Davison dropped the monster, which fell into the palm of the waters.

But Waters made a critical mistake in lap 9 and dropped to 10th.

Davison set a personal best lap on lap 28, but the gap to van Gisbergen was two seconds.

Davison set the fastest lap of the race in the following lap and racked up the five bonus points.

Davison closed the gap to 0.8 seconds with three laps to go, but Van Gisbergen scored his 70th career win.

The final margin was a scant 0.4s, with Finney 11.8 behind his teammate.

Van Gisbergen now leads on the water by 500 points, with Davison and De Pasqual close behind.

Red Bull Bulb Racing opened the teams’ championship with 196 points.

This story originally appeared on and is reposted with permission

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.