Football and Sports News

Warriors vs Melbourne Storm, live updates, SuperCoach scores, video, Reece Walsh, Cameron Munster

The Hurricanes snapped a four-game losing streak with a 24-12 win over the Warriors – but coach Craig Bellamy’s backline woes took another toll.

It was a tight affair at the MT Smart Stadium in the first hour of the clash before the Storm finally kicked into gear with crucial tries to Jarome Hughes and Nick Meaney in the second half.

Minutes after Maney suffered a shoulder injury, he went on to score a fresh try.

The Warriors have their own injury concerns with Chanelle Harris-Tavita down with a foot injury.

Wayde Egan overcame an injury scare with an elbow from Nelson Asofa-Solomona to star for the Warriors at half-time in place of Harris-Tavita at five-eighth.

Referee Peter Gow was forced to warn them of “bad play” after Asofa Salomona was twice penalized and booked once in the opening three minutes and another striker was booked.

Match Center: Warriors vs Storm live stats, video, results

Stream every game of the 2022 NRL Telstra Premiership season live and ad-break free when you play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

63rd minute

Edward Cosey scored his third of the night on a double pump pass from Shawn Johnson.

61st minute

Nick Meaney was forced off the pitch after picking up a shoulder injury while using his shirt as a sling.

53rd minute

Melbourne looked their usual self when Grant Anderson cut in from the right and scored a perfect cross. Meney was unable to convert, but four minutes later she extended the lead to 22-8 with a free kick.

41st minute

The Hurricanes increased their lead to 16-8 early in the second half with a crucial field goal by Jarome Hughes.

33rd minute

Edward Cosey scored his second try of the night from the harbor bridge past provisional five-eighth Wayde Egan.

Fox League’s Steve Rock commented: “That pass is a coke … perfect weight, couldn’t pass better there.”

26th minute

Harry Grant crossed to extend Melbourne’s lead to 10-4.

After the try was scored, Colts five-eighth Chanelle Harris-Tavita came off the field with a foot injury that she had struggled with for much of the game.

20th minute

The Warriors hit back through Edward Kosi but were unable to convert.

19th minute

Storm workhorse Josh King has been reported with a possible eye gouge over Jazz Tevaga.

Referee Peter Gough pointed out that it was their fourth act of “bad play” after warning the Storm.

6th minute

Justin Olam crossed for the first points of the night. Storm centers Shaun Johnson and Edward Causey slipped through a weak defense.

1st minute

Hurricanes star Nelson Asofa-Solomona concedes the first penalty for a dangerous challenge on Edward Kosi. Minutes later, Asofa Salomona elbowed Wade Egan and was penalized again, forcing the harlot off the field for HI.

Match preview

Reece Walsh is back in the No. 1 jersey as the Warriors host the Storm in their second home at Mt Smart Stadium.

After relegating Walsh to the bench last week, the Warriors’ interim coach recalled Walsh at fullback for an important clash on the field.

Walsh returns to fullback, Chanelle Harris-Tavita returns to the halves and Djarne Acey misses the 17.

Storm coach Craig Bellamy made a late change at 17 with Tui Kamikamika starting at lock and Josh King returning to the bench.

A lot has changed since these two sides last met on Anzac Day when the Storm piled up 70 points on the Warriors.

Melbourne have lost their last four games and another defeat would equal their second longest losing streak (2012) – but they did go on to win the Premier League that year.

A group of fighters: 1. Reece Walsh 2. Dallin Watene-Zelezniak 3. Marcelo Montoya 4. Adam Pompey 5. Edward Cosey 6. Chanel Harris-Tavita 7. Shaun Johnson 8. Addin Fonua-Black 9. Wayde Egan 10. Tohu Harris 11. Euan Aitken 12. Josh Curran 13. Jazz Tevaga 14. Freddie Lucic 15. Bunty Afoa 16. Elisa Katoa 17. Jackson Frey. Substitute: 20. Daejarn Asi

Storm team: 1. Nick Meaney 2. Dean Jeremiah 3. Marion Seve 4. Justin Olam 5. Grant Anderson 6. Cameron Munster 7. Jarome Hughes 8. Jesse Bromwich 9. Harry Grant 10. Nelson Asofa-Solomona 11. Felice Kaufisi 12. Kenez Bromwich 15. Tui Kamikamika 13. Josh King 14. Tyran Wishart 16. Alec McDonald 21. Tom Eisenhut. Substitute: 18. Chris Lewis

Get all the NRL news, highlights and analysis straight to your inbox with Fox Sports Sportmail. Register now!!

Live the action on the blog below. If you can’t see it, click here.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.